Skip to main content
New requirements to travel to Europe
News article6 June 2023Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs1 min read

Key differences between ETIAS and the EES

Key differences between ETIAS and the EES


The European Union is preparing for the launch of two new border management initiatives that will affect travel to Europe: the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) and the Entry/Exit Systems (EES). How will travel rules change and how are these two systems different? Find out below.


Both systems aim to strengthen European security and security of those who travel.

ETIAS is a new entry requirement for travellers who do not need a visa to enter 30 European countries for a short stay. These include the 27 countries belonging to the Schengen Area as well as Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania. With ETIAS, visa-free travellers will need to apply for a travel authorisation before starting their trip. ETIAS is not a visa, and its introduction does not modify the visa-free status of travellers.

The EES will register visa-free and visa-required travellers entering Europe for a short stay. No action will be required from travellers before they start their trip, as registration will be done at the external border of any of the 29 European countries using the system. The countries in question include the 27 Schengen countries, Bulgaria, and Romania. Registration on the EES will be done every time travellers cross external borders and will replace the manual stamping of passports.


When applying for an ETIAS travel authorisation, travellers will need to provide their personal information, including address, passport details, current occupation, and information about past travel to conflict zones or criminal convictions. No biometric data, such as fingerprints, is collected with ETIAS.

The EES, on the other hand, will collect travellers’ facial image and fingerprints. It will also collect travel document data as well as the date and place where the traveller entered and exited the territory of European countries using the system.


Travellers will need to apply for an ETIAS travel authorisation well in advance of starting their trip to Europe, whereas registration with the EES occurs at the external border of the 29 countries using the system.

ETIAS and the EES will not be launched at the same time. The EES will become operational first and ETIAS will follow a few months after.

The exact dates will be announced by the EU later this year.


Publication date
6 June 2023
Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs